Certified Demolition Supervisor Certification

Further your profession by becoming a Certified Demolition Supervisor (CDS). The CDS certification recognizes individuals who have demonstrated competence in demolition of structures, including but not limited to structural, selective, interior, or dismantlement. A CDS is accountable for all aspects of a demolition project site, including safety, environmental, operations, and people management. The CDS designation promotes safe and quality practice through its ongoing requirements for professional growth in the demolition industry.

To obtain the CDS certification, individuals must meet certain requirements and then pass a 110-question exam. The CDS exam was created by demolition professionals, so each exam question can be related to real-life demolition experiences.

Registration for the Exam will Open this Fall

The beta test registration period has closed. The next available exam testing window will open in November.

Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible to sit for the CDS Certification exam, an individual must meet the following requirements:

  • 5 years of hands-on demolition experience out of the last 7 years
  • Completion of 8 hour Fall Protection Course or Fall Prevention Course with certificate
  • Completion of OSHA 30 Course
  • Completion of 8 hours of asbestos awareness training or an 8 hour HAZWOPER awareness training
  • Current CPR & First Aid Certification
  • Completion CDS Sponsorship Form, completed by (examples listed below):
    • A current or former employer who can verify that the applicant possesses five years of demolition experience
    • A current CDS certificant who can verify that the applicant possesses five years of demolition experience
    • A union representative who can verify applicant possesses five year of demolition experience
    • A recent client who can verify demolition experience PLUS a demolition license from a regulatory authority that shows at least five years of experience

About the CDS Exam

The CDS Certification Exam is a computer-based, online exam offered in a multiple choice format. No travel needed, candidates can take the exam at home or in the office. A total of 110 questions will be administered and candidates will have 2.5 hours to complete the exam.

It will cover the following five (5) domains:

  • Safety - maintain a safe job site (approximately 32% of the test)
  • Environmental - ensure environmental stewardship on every project (approximately 16% of the test)
  • Operational Methodology - ensure effective functioning of the project (approximately 19% of the test)
  • Project Management - ensure effective administrative set up and standard operating procedures (approximately 15% of the test)
  • People Management - effective guidance of team members and the culture of the project (approximately 18% of the test)

Download Exam Content Outline

Exam Fees

Initial Exam Fee (1st Time Application Only) $595 USD (NDA Members) | $755 USD (Non-Members)
Retake Exam Fee $445 USD

2024 Testing Window and Application Deadlines

Testing Window** Application Timeline Deadline
January 1 - 31 Apply between November 1 and November 30 November 30, 2023
April 1 - 30 Apply between January 1 and February 29 February 29, 2024
July 1 - 31 Apply between April 1 and May 31 May 31, 2024
October 1 - 31 Apply between July 1 and August 31 August 31, 2024

**Exam windows are open all month for testing.

Reference List

A list of reference materials have been provided for candidates to prepare prior to testing. The following list of materials were used in the development of the certification exam.

Renewal of the Certification

The CDS certification is valid for three years. The certification cycle begins at the time of notification of successful completion of the certification exam and continues through December 1, every three years.

Recertification is required to ensure that certificants maintain a level of continued competence through ongoing enhancement of knowledge and skills in the field. Continued competence is defined by NDA as demonstrating knowledge, skills, or ability to proficiently perform as a certified demolition supervisor throughout the certificant’s professional career. Recertification of the CDS promotes continued competence throughout the certificant’s career in the demolition industry by requiring submission of continuing education units every three years.

More information on continuing education units will be released at a later date.

Contact Information

To learn more about the Certified Demolition Supervisor contact NDA’s Certification Manager:

Yenny Caceres
Certification Manager